Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Quick Whiskey Apple Cider??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2013, 04:34 AM   #1
MisterWoody
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Quick Whiskey Apple Cider??

I am very new to brewing. Started my first attempt last Monday and it's going well. I just racked to a secondary (for practice more than anything). Now I can't touch it for several weeks. I am getting impatient. I decided today to try an experiment in fermenting. I mixed some apple juice with some fantastic Irish Whiskey (calculated it out to be about 8% ABV total) - sweetened to where I wanted it then added a pinch more sugar for some carbonation. Put a little cinnamon and vanilla extract in it along with a sprinkle of a few other apple pie spices. Added a tiny bit of yeast nutrient and a pinch of champagne yeast. Tastes pretty good. Put it all into a 1 liter bottle with a flip-top to carbonate. It's been 12 hours since I closed the bottle - I just tested and there's no pressure when opening the flip-top. So I have 2 questions. Will this carbonate? and Will it be OK to open the flip-top to test carbonation level then just re-seal to further carb if it's not what I want? This may seem ridiculous to try but like I said... I am a total newbie and I really wanted to try out carbonating something.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2013, 02:11 PM   #2
saramc
Recipes 

Liked 146 Times on 132 Posts
Likes Given: 1