Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > no fermentation with safale us-05

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2011, 02:43 PM   #1
xkristoferx
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default no fermentation with safale us-05

Hi all! This is my first post here. I've been brewing ales for several months and I decided to give ciders making a go. I went to my local homebrew store and they suggested safale us-05. I bought two gallons of Whitehouse Apple Cider. I add 1/4 brown sugar to 1 gallon carboy and 1/2 apple juice concentrate to the another with the cider. I pitched about 1/4 of the pack of yeast into each of my 1 gallon carboys and after 5 days I am getting zero signs of fermentation. I didn't add any yeast nutrients. Should I have? I'm a little confused to what my next step should be. Should I not have used apple cider and just gone with regular apple juice? Help...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2011, 02:45 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4359 Times on 3169 Posts
Likes Given: 848

Quote:
Originally Posted by xkristoferx View Post
Hi all! This is my first post here. I've been brewing ales for several months and I decided to give ciders making a go. I went to my local homebrew store and they suggested safale us-05. I bought two gallons of Whitehouse Apple Cider. I add 1/4 brown sugar to 1 gallon carboy and 1/2 apple juice concentrate to the another with the cider. I pitched about 1/4 of the pack of yeast into each of my 1 gallon carboys and after 5 days I am getting zero signs of fermentation. I didn't add any yeast nutrients. Should I have? I'm a little confused to what my next step should be. Should I not have used apple cider and just gone with regular apple juice? Help...