*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Newby Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2006, 02:35 AM   #1
PhoenixCoyote
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Newby Question

Hello,
I am interested in making a carbonated hard cider to drink in this hot AZ weather. I am new to homebrewing, made 3 batches of beer so far. Does the process take longer than the beer? Can i buy a cider kit at a HBS store or online? Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2006, 04:46 AM   #2
Cap'n Jewbeard

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Hey man-

It doesn't take a heck of a lot longer than beer, or at least normal beers. My batch took me about 10 days in primary, about a month in secondary, then bottle with a bit of extra sugar and give it 2 weeks to get fizzy.

Of course, ours may have taken longer than normal... we put 5 lbs of sugar in, I believe, a 5 gallong batch. I have no idea what the S.G. or ABV was, but I'm thinking it's higher than what you'd want to simply quench an Arizona thirst.

Old 05-17-2006, 05:13 AM   #3
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

as for buying a kit, that's not necessary. (I'm not even sure they exist.) You want to get pasteurized (sp?), preservative free apple juice. You add some sugar to this (or not). Boil the sugar in water to sanitize before adding it to the juice. Throw in some ale or cider yeast, and let it do it's thing.

-walker

Old 05-18-2006, 01:17 AM   #4
PhoenixCoyote
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by P funky
Hey man-

It doesn't take a heck of a lot longer than beer, or at least normal beers. My batch took me about 10 days in primary, about a month in secondary, then bottle with a bit of extra sugar and give it 2 weeks to get fizzy.