Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > New to cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2012, 06:59 PM   #1
brewmaster89
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default New to cider

So I want to brew some cider this weekend and use a combo of a few recipes and just want to make sure I have this right. I am fairly new to the homebrew scene having only done 3 batches of beer. Two of which are still fermenting.

I was planning on using Dave's Carmel Apple Cider recipe and add a little honey to it also. Not sure how much I will determine that later.

My questions are how much yeast on average do you guys add? And also anything other little things I should know? I have been reading a lot about cider and have seen the horror stories about exploding bottles and pasteurizing the bottles and all that so I kind of know about that.

Sorry for the newb questions. I was also thinking about doing this one as well.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f32/cara...-cider-292770/

See which one I like better.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 07:00 PM   #2
brewmaster89
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

And do you guys ferment in a plastic bucket or do all of you guys use carboys?

Old 04-05-2012, 08:07 PM   #3
jefflane510
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewmaster89
And do you guys ferment in a plastic bucket or do all of you guys use carboys?
I use a 55 gallon white HDPE barrel for my cider. I guess that's a big plastic bucket. After primary, I'll transfer to the carboys and let it sit in the basement for a couple months at about 50°F.

I get a yeast starter going in my 5 gallon carboy. Usually I used two packages of yeast to get it started. Just the little packages of white wine or champagne yeast is all.

Good luck!

Old 04-06-2012, 02:15 AM   #4
Fizzycist
Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 45