The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > New Brewer attempting Graff

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2009, 07:31 PM   #1
Pyledriver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New Brewer attempting Graff

So i just started brewing, been learning a lot on these forums and from my local brew shop. I currently have 5 gallons of Graff fermenting away that i made with 1/4 lb 60L and 1/4 lb 120L and around 4% hops. my question is that when i go to bottle how much of what sweetener should i use and should i cold crash it?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2009, 10:02 PM   #2
Shooter
Almaigan Brewing Co.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 230 Times on 178 Posts
Likes Given: 38

For bottle carbonating you probably need about 4-5 oz of corn sugar for a five gallon batch. If you're talking about sweetener for flavoring purposes then you'll have some issues to deal with if you're planning on bottle carbing.

Old 09-02-2009, 10:55 PM   #3
Pyledriver
Recipes 

Thanks, i was just referring to what would be needed for bottle carbing. I've also red about carbonation tabs. does anyone know how well these work and if you can use them in place of sweetener and further fermentation?

Old 09-02-2009, 11:32 PM   #4
Shooter
Almaigan Brewing Co.

Recipes 

Can't help you on the carb tabs, from what I've read the Coopers ones are better than the ones from Muntons. Are you planning on priming each bottle separately? If you have a bottling bucket it makes things a lot easier because you can just dissolve the corn sugar in boiling water and then add it to the bottling bucket while the beer is being transferred.

The only batches I bottle prime still are my 2 gallon Mr. Beer batches and they're not bad because I still use the one liter bottles that came with the kit. So, it's only eight bottles.