Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > My first cider, a few questions for the pros

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2013, 09:40 PM   #1
lefty23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default My first cider, a few questions for the pros

Hi everyone, I've been brewing for a few years now but this was my first real attempt at a cider/cyser and I was hoping you could help me out with a few things.

First: I just transferred my cider to the secondary yesterday and I've decided I want to spice it up a bit. How do you recommend I sterilize cinnamon sticks or similar spices before adding them to my secondary fermenter? Is sterilization necessary or recommended at this stage?

Second: I used super-rich cider straight from the orchard and 6lbs of honey straight from a bee farm. The honey was like $45, which I didn't mind paying because I want this cider to be the bees knees, so to speak. But after tasting it yesterday it turned out much stronger than I had expected. I used safeale 05, so I knew it would be strong, but I thought there would still be a good amount of residual sweetness and I just didn't taste it. Once it conditions and the alcohol heat mellows a bit, will some of that honey flavor come through, or should I just use cheap store bought honey for fermentation and post-sweeten with the expensive stuff next time?

Any help or suggestions are appreciated, thank you in advance for your help and for welcoming me into your community.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2013, 10:10 PM   #2
woggers
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Yep, save the xpensive stuff for backsweetening. Safale can chew through a lot of sugar-up to 13%+.

You actually made a cyser and you should probably be able to taste a little bit of the honey flavor. If you age it appropriately more mead flavor will come through.