New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > My first cider

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2009, 03:59 AM   #11
flyweed
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Well. it's a little too late for this batch..but I think SNA's would have helped this recipe along quite a bit...adding nutrient at the 1/3 and 2/3's sugar breaks would have kept the ferment rolling along a bit better.

Don't get me wrong, I'm no expert by any means..but I have learned a TON about Staggered Nutrient additions already and am quickly realizing how beneficial they are to just about any mead recipe.

FWIW..just let it go until it clears and you'll know you are getting close to being finished.

Dan

On Tap: Blackberry Blonde Ale
On Tap: Apple/Cherry Hard Cider

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2009, 04:02 PM   #12
jharres
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Thanks Dan. It may be too late for yeast nutrients, but would it be too late for yeast energizer?

My only fear in letting it go until it clears is that my second carboy will be in use for many months at this rate!

Old 01-18-2009, 05:29 PM   #13
Cydermon
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jharres View Post
I put together my first cider two nights ago.

Recipe:
4 1/2 Gallons of Tree Top Apple Juice
2 Cans Apple Juice concentrate (no preservatives or additives)
1 lb Dextrose (to help boost ABV and dry it out a tad)
WLP028 Edinburgh Ale yeast

The gravity reading after mixing and aerating, but before pitching was 1.065, so I'm guessing if it ferments out to around 1.000 it should be around 8-8.5 % ABV. Does this sound correct?