Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Massive Strength Hard Cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2009, 04:21 PM   #51
blackwater
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tusch View Post
Based on Kauai's estmiated OG for that,

(1.084-.998)/.0075 = 11.4666667

So 11.5% If those numbers are accurate, I wouldn't be adding any more sugar to that, unless you stabilize and are adding sugar to sweeten it. Because that is certainly edging the line between cider and wine already.
Thanks for the equation! So whats the best way to make this pleasing to drink?
Leave it in the barrel to mature for 3 months? Add sugar to sweeten it? rack it in something else?

You guys rock!!
Old 01-16-2009, 05:34 PM   #52
Tusch
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Brewing on that scale and in barrels is way out of my league, so I have no experience. But personally I like dry ciders. So I would let it sit for a few months at least. But you have to decide how you are going to let it finish, dry, semi-sweet, sweet, still or carbonated?

I do wonder how the barrel brewing process goes for cider. Let it age in the barrel, and then rack to new carboys or do you bottle straight from the barrel? How do you judge clarity of the whole batch if you can only see your samples. I leave these questions to be answered by someone else. Also, sorry BrewinJack for the hijack (I hate bad jokes, so sorry for the jack-jack thing too)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2009, 06:51 PM   #53
blackwater
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Thanks everyone for the help and I'm sorry to have taken over the thread. I'm moving my questions over to here:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f32/how-...4/#post1069245

Thanks again and please let me know how the Power house cider comes out!!

Chris

Old 01-18-2010, 01:39 AM   #54
BrewinJack
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts