Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Looking for a light, crisp summer cider recipe..

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2010, 05:35 PM   #1
brobins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Looking for a light, crisp summer cider recipe..

Hi there...

I am new to home brewing and have recently just bottled my first batch of Lager but I have ended up with 35 spare 330ml bottles left over so would like to try and make a simple cider.. Something light, crisp and summery that will get me through the World Cup

I have seen a recipe called 'Turbo Cider' which basically just uses Apple Juice and Yeast.. Is it really this simple?

Many Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 06:37 PM   #2
LightningInABottle
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Yes it is that simple!!! I'm not sure what kind of yeast you can get a hold of where you live, but s-04, us-05 or Notty are good choices for a basic cider. If you can get non-pasturized non-preserved cider you can even just throw an airlock on it and let the wild yeasts do their thing.

Old 02-21-2010, 07:02 PM   #3
brobins
Recipes 

Hi, thank you, I plan on getting this started asap..

I can get hold of a Cider Yeast from the Online Store I use but the sachet is for producing 5 Gallons! As I only plan on producing half this amount can I save half the yeast or does it need using up?

Also, when I get to the bottling stage, how do I know how much sugar to add to ensure a carbonated cider? I used Coopers Carbonation Drops for my Lager, could I also use these for the Cider?

Many Thanks

Old 02-21-2010, 08:41 PM   #4
Terry08
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts