Come enter the BrewHardware Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Issues with my Cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2007, 11:45 PM   #1
dinks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Issues with my Cider

I am very new to this and I am looking for some help.

On 10/01/07 I began a raspberry cider. I used 100% apple juice, 30 ounces of raspberries (non frozen) and 2 table spoons of sugar for sport. I use the mead slap pack yeast that a local homebrew supplier recomended (I cant remember the number).

Anyways, blended up the raspberries and mixed it all together and let it go. I had activity in the air-lock within 6 hours and a strong sulfur smell late the next day. I did some reading that most people pasturized/cooked their berries before adding them. I got paranoid and decided to transfer the cider to a secondary and strain off all the excess seeds and pulp from the berries. I did this on day 3. After doing this I still had strong activity in the air lock and lots of stinky sulfur.

About 2 days ago activity in the air lock pretty much stopped, I have it a lil shake and left it alone. Last night I checked it again and there was still now bubbles. So I took a sample and the hydrometer read 1.00 even. The cider is still cloudy and smells.

Sooooooo..... Is this totally normal for only being one week old or did I kill the yeast when I moved it to the secondary? If so should I re-pitch?

Any help or advice would be great..

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2007, 12:04 AM   #2
mrk305
Beer Dude in the Sunset
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 22

I know it is a different recipe, but look at Edwort's Apfelwein.

http://homebrewtalk.com/showthread.p...orts+apfelwein

It takes about a month to clear and finish. The bubbling lasts about a week and it stinks like sulphur.

Old 10-10-2007, 12:05 AM   #3
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 132 Posts