Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > I'm new and I need some help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2013, 02:07 AM   #1
nlg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 4

Default I'm new and I need some help

Hello,
I'm new and I need some help. I want to make hard cider that is sweet and fizzy but I don't know what recipe to use. I've been searching but there are so many I don't know how to decide. I've never done this before so I need something simple and easy to understand, but by 'simple' I don't want to sacrifice quality(as was the case with the original recipe I found telling me to use the apple juice listed below). Here is what I have (let me know if I need anything else).
•1 gal Old Orchard Organics 100% Apple Juice Pasteurized
•1 gal Trader Joe's 100% Apple Cider No preservatives Pasteurized
•5 gal glass jug
•1 -5 g packet of Lalvin wine yeast Selection ICV D47 Saccharomices cerevisiae 4.5 -23 L (1-5 IMP. Gal/ 1-6 U.S. Gal)
Thank you for your help
Nicole

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2013, 03:19 AM   #2
burshaw
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

You will need some Corn sugar and you should be good google a hard cider recipes and pick your favorite good luck!

¤Viking¤Hard¤Cider¤

Old 02-28-2013, 03:22 AM   #3
burshaw
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Oh and you will need an airlock and more apple juice to fill you 5 gallons my first attempt turned out amazing and its currently aging for a few months. you could also pick up some cinnamon sticks and a micky of vodka soak a stickin vodka before you throw it in your cider.

¤Viking¤Hard¤Cider¤

Old 02-28-2013, 05:12 AM   #4
BadgerBrigade
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 46 Times on 42 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlg
Hello,