Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > How To Make Your Hard Cider Carbonated

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
UK_Junglist
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default How To Make Your Hard Cider Carbonated

Hi All

I don't want to sound like a complete idiot but im new to the whole brewing thing.

I have just made my first batch of Hard Cider and want to carbonate it, im using coopers pellets as I bottle the cider, I know it can take up to 2 days for the pellet to work but after 2 days the cider I flat as a pancake lol.

Can any one help

Regards

Mark

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2012, 09:32 AM   #2
GilSwillBasementBrews
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 138 Times on 119 Posts
Likes Given: 21

I've never used the pellets but I know using 1oz sugar/1gallon will give about 2.5volumes co2. But it takes 14-21days to naturally carb. If I had to venture a guess I'd say you weren't waiting long enough for it to carb. But again I've not use the coopers pellets before so I could totally be wrong.

Beer Plus Science = .....Good!!!!! By: Adam Savage

Old 10-31-2012, 10:03 AM   #3
mcspanner
Recipes 

Liked 130 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 15

I've not used them as after reviewing the options I decided that priming with sugar was a lot cheaper for the same results effectively.

When I was researching them though two things did come up on a couple of occasions when any discussion of using coopers carb drops.

1: the two day carb guideline is way out for most people. Loads of threads on this and other forums all point to needing to carb up over 10-14 days or longer despite the claims on the packet.