The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > how long to ferment cider.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2012, 03:13 AM   #1
joecheberline
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default how long to ferment cider.

I'm wanting to make a cider for Christmas. (I'm worried it won't be done in time) I'm new to cider but have experience in AG beer. Is there a recipe or any kind of cider that the fermentation period is less. If not no big deal. Please let me know your feedback. Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 03:52 AM   #2
HAREEBROWNBEEST
Recipes 

Liked 55 Times on 48 Posts

You can do it possibly in three weeks time. Use 4-5 gallons juice, add three cans juice concentrate, add your yeast. Let ferment out 1 week. Transfer off yeast into bottling bucket, add more juice concentrate in bucket to your taste or liking (I usually use three cans) bottle and let sit at room temp 70*F for about three to five days. Crack one open to see if it's carbed up to where you like it and if your satisfied place the bottles on the fridge to stop or slow the carb process. Enjoy. This is simple and tasty. Of course it gets better with age but it's tasty this young.

Old 11-30-2012, 04:22 AM   #3
joecheberline
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Thanks for the reply. Do you do a yeast starter? I use the Nottingham dry ale yeast for my beer, I have been told that I can use the same for cider.

When you say use concentrate is that the frozen tubes of juice?

Thanks again

Old 11-30-2012, 05:06 AM   #4
HAREEBROWNBEEST
Recipes