The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > How to increase to 5 GAL?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2006, 09:41 PM   #1
Ironman2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How to increase to 5 GAL?

Hi, I am new to brewing and this is my first batch of cider I am trying.

I have started a 6 gallon batch of peach cider from the overflowing amount of fruit I picked from my tree. ( Barely put a dent in my tree)

I used about 15-20 lbs of cut up peaches currently in a nylon bag in a 6.5 gal primary bucket.

My question is when I remove the fruit I will have less than the 6 gallons of liquid I will need to completely fill the 6.5 gallon carboy.

What should I use to increase the liquid level to get to the 6 gal? If I just add water would I be diluting the specific gravity too much or would I add sugar to the batch and get a specific gravity of the 1.045-1.05 like I started with?

Currently in process:

5 gal Elderberry wine ( hand picked berries) ready to rack first time in 1 week.
OG 1.13 ( I know about .03 too high) fermentation went crazy. Starting to clear a little now.

5 gal Peach wine (hand picked) fermenting in primary.

6 gal Peach cider fermenting with fruit in nylon bag in primary bucket with airlock.
OG 1.045-1.05.

Peaches coming out of my ears. Made jam, fruit rollups whew!!!!

Currently drinking:

Bass clone Pale Ale Yum. First attempt at brewing love it!!!

Thanks, Don

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2006, 10:39 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 131 Times on 124 Posts

Don't worry about topping off the cider. There should be enough CO2 coming out of the cider when you rack it to avoid contamination. Plus, Oxidation isn't much of a problem with ciders. Since you have so many peaches, start another batch.