Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Help with cider making

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2013, 09:43 PM   #1
tuggy53
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Help with cider making

First time I have tried to make cider, decided to go the wild yeast way, all fine but the fermentation has stopped after 2 days , is this normal please

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2013, 09:46 PM   #2
Maverick22
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

No, it's not. How are you sure it has stopped?

Old 09-04-2013, 09:49 PM   #3
Mozart
Recipes 

Liked 72 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 14

There's not much to go on here, and I'm relatively new to homebrewing in general, and the closest thing to cider I've made is a batch of graf - nor have I tried using wild yeast.

What I can say (based on my limited experience, but I do read a lot on HBT!) is that fermentation stopping after two days would seem unusual - which leads me to believe fermentation probably hasn't really stopped.

Don't confuse a lack of airlock activity with the end of fermentation. It's not a reliable indicator.

The only truly reliable indicator is taking specific gravity measurements with a hydrometer. When these measurements hold constant for three days, then one can more reasonably conclude that fermentation has completed.

First, I'd give it more time. Most of us ferment for a couple of weeks, minimum.

Second, if you're still concerned, you can try gently swirling the fermentation vessel to rouse the yeast and move it to a slightly warmer location to encourage the yeast to pick up the tempo.

Of course I encourage those with more experience to chime in, but again, I think two days is too quick to come to any conclusions.

Drinking: Hefeweizen
Carbing/Conditioning/Aging: Nothing
Fermenter #1 (6.5g): Empty