Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > First timer - yeast doesn't seem to work

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2010, 10:21 PM   #1
kalistha
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First timer - yeast doesn't seem to work

Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie to cider making and on a lark decided to get into it as we had a bumper crop of apples from our usually infertile apple trees this year.

This is roughly what happened:

1. Picked a whole bunch of apples, ordered equipment
2. Equipment arrived, realised i needed a juicer
3. Bought a juicer. By this time, half the apples were bad.
4. Threw bad apples out, juiced the good ones. Filled half of a 5-gallon fermenting jug. Decided needed more apples.
5. Only had time to pick apples on the next weekend (5 days later), so tossed a load of sodium metabisulphite in the fermenter to sterilise the juice.
6. picked more apples, juiced them over a 2-3 days (hard work!) and added them into my fermenter.
7. finished 24 hours ago, and threw in my yeast. (Youngs cider yeast), according to instructions on packet - toss it in, wait 15 minutes, stir.
8. had too much juice for 5 gallons, so used a plastic demijohn as well (filled half of that).
9. popped airlocks on both containers, but 24 hours later there is no bubbling through the airlocks, nothing. getting worried as apparently vinegar could happen if fermentation doesn't start soon?

the other potential problem is that using a kitchen juicer (centrifugal type) i had a whole load of foam sitting on top of my juice which is looking pretty funky (i can't post pictures as i'm new, but if you want to see it, please pm me).

really not sure what to do now - it's been a couple weeks of hard work and money spent that i don't want to go to waste

can anyone help?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2010, 10:30 PM   #2
Yan
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts