First time for cider so need a little help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrtickel

Reaction score
Hi lads and lassies
This is my first time brewing cider so bear with me. im trying for a taste something like bulmers or strongbow.
Im going to use 4L of apple juice for tesco (from non concentrated) €1.34 its a cloudy apple juice its the only 1 i can get.
Im going to buying 1 or 2 5L demi john from my brew store today €7.60 each cheap enough i think and some yeast, i have some brewing sugar left from doing my beer or would honey be better to use, if so how much honey would i need for the 4L batch and im looking to get maybe 7% ta 8% ABV.
Also would i need to use some neutreant and how much for this and what would be a good yeast to use to try and get the taste im looking for as mentioned above.
As i said im a pure newbie to brewing cider :)

Thanks

Ps. this might be a silly question will the cider be cloudy or will the juice clear.:eek:

You probably wouldn't need to add sugar/honey to the juice to get it to 7%. You'd be shooting for an OG of around 1.055, so save yourself some trouble and buy a hydrometer with everything else and you'll get it spot on. Just measure the juice before any addition and if it's lower than 1.055, add small amounts of sugar until you get it right :)

Also, the cider will be cloudy after fermentation, but will most likely clear after a few weeks/months depending on how it is stored/aged. Might I suggest also purchasing some pectinase (pectic enzyme) to add prior to fermentation? It'll clear it right up.

Thanks oldmate for the help