Edworts apfelwein - 1 gallon recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

calicojack

Reaction score
This is my first post. I tried a search, but 11 pages into it, and i'm still not finding what I'm looking for.

As I am fairly new to home brewing (started with some meads about 6 months ago) I find myself only wanting to make gallon "test" batches of various flavors/alcohols. That way If i don't like it, i'm not waisting all of what's left over. The reciepes I do like, I'm stepping up to 5 gallon batches.

So that being said, Can anyone help me out with a 1 gallon recipe for this particular brew?

1 Gallon 100% Apple Juice
? cups of brown sugar
? packets of _____ yeast

Is this brew going to be like mead where you wait for the yeast to stop bubbling (usually after a month) and then rack it over to a aging vessel for another 3-5 months?

Welcome to the forums. Edwort uses Dextrose (corn sugar) for his recipe. I know other's have tried different sugars, but if you want to "test" it, I'd stick to the original on the first.

Anyways. You need .4 pounds, or 6.4 oz (you divide 2# by 5). And I'd use half a packet of montrachet yeast.

If you age it, it's wonderful (I still have a couple of 4 year old bottles), but you can drink it basically after it clears itself. You can carb it or you can leave it still. If you leave it alone it clears up nicely.

I would like to make a 1 gallon batch of this. I'm not sure if me and the Mrs will like it.

Maybe I'll do 2. One with a cinnamon stick, and one without.

How long do you think it would need to be in primary for 1 gallon?

OK, what about bottling it? To add some carbination, would a coopers carb drop in a beer bottle do the trick? I can't decide to bottle in beer bottles, or borrow a wine corker.