Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > 'donia Cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2008, 06:40 PM   #1
Twistingking
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 'donia Cider

OK all here is the recipe for cider I am trying. I am a noob to this and I kinda just winged it. I will let you know how the final product comes out.

1.5 Gallons home made cider (from my trees in back)
4 Gallons Apple Juice
5 ponds plain white sugar

6 gallon primary fermenter
1 Airlock

I combined all the juices in the fermenter except 1 gallon of juice. I put the remaining gallon of juice in my brew pot and brought it to a boil. After boiling slowly stir in Sugar and dissolve completely add to fermenter. The I sealed it and put it in the basement which averages 60 F. It bubbled really well the first week so far. Thats all I got I will fill you in as it develops.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2008, 08:09 PM   #2
JoeSponge
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

So you're using the natural yeasts left in the cider from mashing? Sounds like you've got a good ferment going already. Did you measure your specific gravity?

Old 11-26-2008, 08:30 PM   #3
Gosassin
Recipes 

The only thing I have to say is that I've been told/read that boiling cider will cause the pectins to solidify, and they may show up in the finished product. I've made jelly before, and boiling is what causes the pectin to set in that process, which seems to jibe with what I've been told. If it does show up, maybe use some gelatin in the carboy to drop it out? Otherwise, sounds like it's going to be pretty tasty!

Old 11-27-2008, 01:21 PM   #4
Twistingking
Recipes 

I didn't get the gravity like I said I'm new to all this and had actually forgotten until about 2 days into fermenting.

Old 11-27-2008, 02:41 PM   #5
MikeRLynch