Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Crab-apple Cider by a new guy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2008, 04:06 AM   #21
Tusch
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts

As this is your first, I would shy away from using spices. But I would definitely recommend you fill up that fermenter. Add enough juice to pretty much fill it up, then add concentrate to raise it to your desired SG. Or just add the juice and with the cans you already added, you will probably be somewhere around 6 or 7%.

As far as bottles, well I would say hold off bottling as long as you can, because the longer you wait the better this stuff will be. I started brewing ciders in the fall and wanted to get something ready for Christmas, it was a bad idea. Not that you can't get something good in just a couple months, but you can get something amazing with 6+ (even years). Also, the longer you wait the longer you have to drink and get your friends to drink, so you have enough bottles when you are ready.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2008, 02:26 AM   #22
ajk170
Recipes 

Ok- so I am reading the posts about using the concentrate as my priming agent and I am thinking that this might give me what I want without adding a non-fermentable. I too like bubbly cider but I want it sweet and wet.
Anybody have good experiances with that?

Also, I am wondering what the consequnce of racking too early to a secondary? Is there any problems down the road?

Thanks!

Old 09-12-2008, 02:53 AM   #23
Tusch
Recipes 

I would not worry about racking to early to secondary, I would wait until at last 1.02, but after that you fine to rack. I usually end up racking long after that.

If you want sparkling sweet cider, you only have two options.
Stabilizing, backsweetening and kegging OR
Backsweetening with nonfermentable sugars (Splenda, Lactose) and bottle carbonating.