New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Complete begginer - set up help needed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2008, 12:32 PM   #1
Ladybrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Complete begginer - set up help needed

Hi All, I have been lurking here for a few days and really need your help. I would like to start making my own cider but really need your advice before I invest in the right kit. There are lots of Cider Starter kits for sale but I want to get decent kit so as to make good quality cider. Can you offer me some advice as to how much it will cost (I thought around £60??) and what/where is best place to buy. Like I said I am a complete novice (but an enthusiastic one!) based in Rugby, Warwickshire. Thank you

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2008, 01:07 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2657 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 3446

Do you have any links to cidermaking kits, so we can look to see what they have.

It seems to me to make cider, you don't need anything more than a fermenter, and airlock, and maybe a hydrometer to check the status of fermentation, an autosiphon to move the cider from the fermenter, a bottling bucket with spigot and wand, and some sanitizer.

A rough calculation in Us Dollars for that stuff would be about 50-60 dollars. A 5 gallon Better Bottle costs about 20 dollars, the autosiphon 10, another 10 for the bottling bucket/spigot/wand, 7 for the hydrometer and another 5 or 6 for the test jar, 2 for the airlock, and maybe another 10 for the sanitizer.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman