Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Cider Fermentation Concerns

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2007, 11:07 PM   #1
chadtr5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Cider Fermentation Concerns

I have been homebrewing for a couple months now and decided to dive into my first cider batch. It's been four days now and I am not seeing any signs of fermentation...at all. I am doing a five gallon batch, I sanitized everything, I made sure I aerated the cider and the yeast really well, the cider was around 70 degrees when pitched, it really was the perfect start. I EVEN PUT YEAST ENERGIZER IN THERE! The only thing that has me worried is I used White Labs English Cider Yeast and that was set to expire one week after I pitched it. Could this be the problem? Is this typical for a cider fement? I am used to beer recipes where the wort is fermenting out of control within 24 hours.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2007, 12:57 AM   #2
jo7hs2
Recipes 

You know, I had that happen with a batch of the White Labs Sweet Mead Yeast just the other day that I pitched into that leaky-lidded primary. There was no visible or olfactory change in the cider. It was until I decided to stir it a little (with a santized spoon) that it basically exploded in my face, fizz-wise. I mean, normally my cider doesn't develop much foam in the primary, but there was ZERO surface activity this time. It was, however, the first time I've used the yeast, so I wasn't sure what to expect.

It may be fermenting, just not visibly. You could try agitating it a little, or getting a SG reading, but you will risk getting nasties in there. I didn't care with mine, because it was such a small batch that I can stand to loose it. I'm sure somebody will give you better advice, but I wouldn't count it (the yeast) out yet.

Old 09-05-2007, 04:28 AM   #3
Rdracera1
Recipes