Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Cider / Apple wine ?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2011, 12:00 AM   #1
Jimmy51
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Cider / Apple wine ?

Hello,
I am a Newbie to wine making and got a Batch ( 5 gal ) of Cider that is clear and I think is ready to be bottled or bulk aged... I have a few question that i am wondering about...

1. The batch when i tasted, tastes like jet fuel? Will this settle down with aging? starting SG 1.083 how long to should u age?
2. I want to sweeten it up? i understand that u need to stabalize and then i can add my sweetener? what is the suggested amount for this (sugar .ect )
3. Should i bulk age or bottle?
Thanks For the Help.....Jimmy

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2011, 12:21 AM   #2
AndrewTodd
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy51 View Post
Hello,
I am a Newbie to wine making and got a Batch ( 5 gal ) of Cider that is clear and I think is ready to be bottled or bulk aged... I have a few question that i am wondering about...

1. The batch when i tasted, tastes like jet fuel? Will this settle down with aging? starting SG 1.083 how long to should u age?
2. I want to sweeten it up? i understand that u need to stabalize and then i can add my sweetener? what is the suggested amount for this (sugar .ect )
3. Should i bulk age or bottle?
Thanks For the Help.....Jimmy
What was your finshed SG?

Old 11-18-2011, 12:32 AM   #3
Jimmy51
Recipes 

I followed the Recipe i had and let it run its course...Last time i checked it was .998 ?

Old 11-18-2011, 12:39 AM   #4
AndrewTodd
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
I followed the Recipe i had and let it run its course...Last time i checked it was .998 ?
11.1% ABV. yep its rocket fuel..which isn't bad if its wine. Mine is creeping up on that.

I would just age it out.