Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Cider and Apfelwein half-batches?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2012, 01:36 AM   #1
SudsyPaul
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Cider and Apfelwein half-batches?

I'm new to homebrewing, and my wife wants my hobby to benefit her, so I was thinking of making her Apfelwein. The only issue with that is that my wife doesn't want to wait 6+ months for something to drink

I have 21L of cold-pressed apple juice that I bought from Walmart, today (some Canadian brand) and I was thinking of doing a half-batch of Apfelwein with Lavlin 1118, and another half-batch of sweet hard cider.

I've found several recipes for dry cider, but I'm looking for a sweet cider that I can make in 3-4 months. My wife likes Magners and Grower's brand ciders... but Magners is super complicated and Grower's is too small to find a clone (and I'm too new to come up with something on my own)

Would 2.5gal of apple juice + 1lb of corn sugar + Wyeast 3068? Primary for 4-6 weeks and rack to secondary for another 4-6 weeks, then bottle for 3-4 weeks?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2012, 03:00 AM   #2
SudsyPaul
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

I just had a mini-braingasm. I think I'm going to make a full batch of Apfelwein and then backsweeten 1/2 with Splenda and carb it, and then leave half of it flat and dry.

That way, I get to appreciate the full goodness of the Apfelwein without carbonation or added sweetness, and my wife gets a sweet fizzy drink The flat stuff can wait until the summer/fall of 2013 for consumption, too... since I want to give it time to mature before I try it out.

Old 12-21-2012, 06:33 PM   #3
Pickled_Pepper
Recipes 

Liked 75 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 20