Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Cheap Hard Apple Cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2013, 01:02 PM   #1
JonSnow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default Cheap Hard Apple Cider

I'm planning to brew up some apple-cider on the cheap in about a week, and I thought I would take someone else's advice and post on here to get some opinions before I went through with it.

I'm new to this, so I did some research here first. Links below.

Currently I have a beer in my (only) ale-pale, and another in my (only) carboy. So I want to try to do this with as little equipment as possible.

GOING TO BUY:
-Apple juice (w/o preservatives)
-Brown Sugar
-Champagne yeast

METHOD:
1) pour out a cup or so of apple juice from the container I purchased the Apple juice in. Add brown sugar. Mix.

2) Cover but I won't tighten completely

3) Wait 1-2 weeks

4)Tighten lids

5) Wait 2-4 weeks

BUT...I'm not sure if taking a few more steps might produce a much better result, so ...I have a lot of questions:

• How much brown sugar would be appropriate to add? 2 cups/gallon?

If I want to bottle and carbonate, when should I do that (after 1 week?)

Would it be worth buying a $3 home-depot pale and lid? If so, how does one make an airlock? Just drill a hole? (I tried to search for this, but couldn't find an answer...I'm not "handy" myself, but I have access to some tools).

What's up with raisins? I've read a few links where people added them.

Would it be "worth" bottling? I have some corona bottles but I don't want to waste the caps on something this cheap (and potentially bad).

Would it be worth putting it into empty soda containers?

Well, those are my thoughts this morning. I should probably hurry up and get to work! Thank you everyone in advance. I love this site so far! I've been spending tons of time here!