Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > blackberry cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2010, 10:05 PM   #1
mariners02
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default blackberry cider

Hey everyone, i live in the Pacific Northwest and there is going to be an abundance of ripe blackberries in the next couple weeks, so my question is could anyone give me a basic recipe for a blackberry cider? I have made hard apple cider and apple wine before but never anything with fruit i actually picked. Could anyone give me a general recipe for a good drinkable somewhat sweet cider (5-8% alcohol), ideally without adding any extra sugars just blackberries (if possible). I'm assuming i would want to use some kind of ale yeast but any guidance on what kind would be great too.
thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2010, 05:49 AM   #2
mcjake
Recipes 

I've never done this before, but I would just use a wyeast california ale yeast or wyeast pacman yeast.

Sounds like fun. I sure wish I could easily get enough berries for that type of project.

Old 07-16-2010, 01:43 PM   #3
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 133 Times on 126 Posts

The sugars in blackberries are 100% fermentable, so regardless of the yeast, you end up with a dry beverage. I use two pounds of blackberries, frozen and thawed per gallon of apple juice, Nottingham or Safale-05 and back-sweeten with Splenda.

I'm expecting a huge crop this year, both because of the weather and the small crop last year. I may try fermenting some berries without any apple juice.

Old 07-16-2010, 05:27 PM   #4
mcjake
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by david_42 View Post
The sugars in blackberries are 100% fermentable, so regardless of the yeast, you end up with a dry beverage. I use two pounds of blackberries, frozen and thawed per gallon of apple juice, Nottingham or Safale-05 and back-sweeten with Splenda.