Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Apple Cider Racked Onto yeastcake (WLP320)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2013, 01:22 AM   #1
alegrador
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Apple Cider Racked Onto yeastcake (WLP320)

So, I'm a relative newb to this whole brewing thing and I have a whopping half dozen partial mash/extract beers to my name and i've gotta admit, i'm ridiculously addicted and looking to experiment!

Last night I racked a honey wheat over to one of my secondaries, but instead of dumping out all that perfectly good yeast (wlp320) from the primary I decided I wanted to either "wash" it (i've never done it before) or try dumping some perfectly good apple cider on top of it (I've never made cider before either)....
30 Minutes and 35 bucks worth of beautiful apple cider goodness later, i'm home pouring it all into a bucket. Did I read somewhere that white labs 320 yeast was the perfect yeast for hard cider? nope.... Apparently everyone used wine or champagne yeast.

Maybe I should be picked up by a short yellow bus for work every morning, but what do you guys think about trying to make hard cider with an American Hefeweizen Ale Yeast?

PS- 24 hours later it's chugging right along with an airlock making that bubbly sound we all love. something must be working...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2013, 02:39 AM   #2
JtotheA
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 10

You have the right idea! Economical, variety and just plain smart! I typically will rack off the cake/lees once and add more right on top. At most, the cake is only 2-3 weeks old before I rack. And as far as the Hefe yeast, I had good results. It's one of many ale yeasts I've had success with brewing cider. Good call doing what you did! I'm sorry if you get addicted

Old 03-15-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
alegrador
Recipes