Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Worth Aging/Keeping?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
flyte74
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Worth Aging/Keeping?

So this is my first time making mead. I'm pretty meticulous when it comes to making beer and have created some very tasty end products. However, with my first batch of mead I have admittedly been half-assing it.

Here is what I've done up to this point and info I'm guessing you will need in order to offer advice.

1st Batch
2.5 lbs Clover Honey (Costco)
1lb mango.
EC-1118
Yeast nutrient (can't remember what kind, came in pack of 5 vials)
Water to 1 gallon.

2nd Batch
2.5 lbs Clover Honey (Costco)
1lb mixed berries (raspberries, blueberries, strawberries)
EC-1118
Yeast nutrient (can't remember what kind, came in pack of 5 vials)
Water to 1 gallon.

So I got everything bottled up in two seperate 1 gallon fermenters and quickly realised I overfilled and didin't leave enough headspace. A few hours into it BOTH batches already had must in the airlocks. And here is where I think I began to make a series of bad choices. I decided to dissolve another 2.5 lbs of honey in one gallon of water which I placed into a five gallon carboy. I then strained both gallon batches into the carboy bringing the total to three gallons. It sat that way for a few days, then I added 1lb of white raisins. Then, four days after that, I decided to add 2.5 lbs of honey by just pouring it into the carboy. My plan is to let it sit for about six months, rack it to three seperate gallon jugs with some as yet undecided fruits and let that sit for another few months, rack it again, let it sit 2-3 more months and then bottle it.

Should I dump this one and start over or is there a chance it may turn out ok and I should just see it through?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message