Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > What wood you do?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2010, 12:26 PM   #11
gratus fermentatio
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 723 Times on 505 Posts
Likes Given: 1814

Quote:
Originally Posted by pirate504 View Post
Me and the neighbor made a few batches of mead back in October and it has developed very nicely judging by the sample bottle he drew out yesterday.

He is very much a noob when it comes to brewing in general and I am fairly new to mead making in general, but anyway he was asking about adding some wood into some of his mead ...possibility setting aside a gallon or two and adding some alder wood cubes since he likes smoking a lot with alder and he thought that alder would make a nice note of flavor to mead.

Not having done any experimenting with oaking beers and such I came back here to do some homework. What are some thoughts about using other woods with aging mead specifically and brewing in general?

I cant think of any reason why not to do it, but at the same time i dont want to ruin several gallons of otherwise good mead.

BTw we have a straight mead, a mixed berry mead, an apple mead, and a cherry mead between the two of us totaling almost 30 gal. ( We were given almost an entire 5 gal bucket of honey from a local bee keeper in exchange for a few cases of finished mead.)