Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Questions on using oak chips

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2013, 08:39 PM   #1
damdaman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 13 Posts

Default Questions on using oak chips

I have 3 gallons of pyment that I'm going to rack onto oak chips. I've never used oak before but hope it will add some nice complexity.

I have both light toasted american oak chips and medium toasted american. Which would you guys recommend using? How long do you usually boil them? How many chips per gallon?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 08:45 PM   #2
nitack
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

None! Blah!

I used to not mind oak in a wine. Then I we t to paradise springs winery in Clifton Virginia... Their wine maker has some sort of obsession with oak, be ause that wAs all I could taste, it was beyond overpowering. Since then I can't stomach any wine with oak.

Don't let me discourage you though. Others here like using oak and seem pleased with the results.

Old 02-12-2013, 09:53 PM   #3
SagamoreAle
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts

I use oaks in my meads when I'm in the mood. It adds some nice complexity. Either light or medium is a good choice.

If you've got metabisulfite in your pyment then you don't need to boil the chips ahead of time. If I'm adding to beer (meaning: non-sulfited beverage) I steam them for 15 minutes.

I toss in a handful of chips into my 5 gallon batches.

If you consider the surface area of the inside of an oak barrel, you can probably add as many chips as you want without worrying about over-oaking.

Ex fermentum, scientia.

Old 02-13-2013, 01:30 AM   #4
Brann_mac_Finnchad
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 21

I don't believe it matters what amount of oak you use--less oak will just take longer. Just keep tasting until it's where you want.

Oaking Meads thread

Primary: