The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Possible stuck fermentation or other issue(s)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2009, 01:32 AM   #11
hightest
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by petes View Post
Going back to the #2 post; I would've thought something like the addition of potassium carbonate would come to light here as a means of increasing a low pH and getting things going
Reasonable or not?
It would if I had some assurance that low pH was a reasonable possibility. However, seeing as this is a JAO type recipe, I'm not so sure that is the issue, and rather that use a 'shotgun' approach I opted for what seemed the more likely problem - even though I've no experience with JAO recipes.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2009, 05:23 AM   #12
robsauce
Recipes 

Well maybe I was a bit to hasty to post about my supposed problem. I went ahead and made up a half batch of the starter (3cups of liquid total) which after only 5 hours has just as much foam and head on it as there is liquid in my 1.5L jar (with airlock of course). I'm scared to go to bed only to wake up in the morning to find it has exploded.

But, some potentially good news, at the same time of making the starter I took a SG reading of the 2 batches. The blackberry batch is currently sitting at 1.094 and the orange batch is at 1.091 which is a definite change from the 1.1 - 1.11 that they started at.

I'm wondering if I will need that the starter at all...or maybe I just need a small amount?

Old 02-07-2009, 12:19 PM   #13
hightest
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by robsauce View Post
Well maybe I was a bit to hasty to post about my supposed problem... The blackberry batch is currently sitting at 1.094 and the orange batch is at 1.091 which is a definite change from the 1.1 - 1.11 that they started at.