Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > opinions on recipe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2006, 07:56 PM   #1
sconnie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default opinions on recipe

i'm brand new to the home brew world, and i'm going to start up a simple jug wine or a cider soon. In addition, i'm thinking of making something a little more complex that takes a bit of time to age. I came across this Cyser recipe:
http://www.nwlink.com/~badger/cyser.html
The instructions seem quite good, but i've never done this before. Is there anything left out of these instructions that i should know before attempting this? What yeast would be best to make it not super dry? This recipe does not say to "prime" before bottleing as i've seen in other recipes. What are the advantages of priming, and how would i do so in this recipe? Any opinions on changes to the recipe would also be appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2006, 08:19 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

priming is the process of adding a LITTLE sugar to a brew that still has living yeast in it just before you bottle it up. The yeast will eat the sugar after bottling and generate the carbon dioxide needed for bubbly beverages.

If you don't prime, you get a non-carbonated beverage.

I know jack about cysers, so maybe they are supposed to be non-carbonated/

-walker

Old 08-20-2006, 10:20 AM   #3
NurseNan
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts