Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > One Gallon Batch Hydrometer Question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2012, 07:23 PM   #1
flyinmonkeybs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default One Gallon Batch Hydrometer Question

I just attempted my first two gallons of mead. I used the JAO recipe as it appeared simple enough for my first attempt. My question is, when I tried to take a reading after mixing the initial ingredients my hydrometer floated out of range. Is this because the 3.5 pounds of honey made the mixture so thick?

__________________
flyinmonkeybs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2012, 07:33 PM   #2
fatbloke
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK - South Coast.
Posts: 2,682
Liked 174 Times on 161 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinmonkeybs View Post
I just attempted my first two gallons of mead. I used the JAO recipe as it appeared simple enough for my first attempt. My question is, when I tried to take a reading after mixing the initial ingredients my hydrometer floated out of range. Is this because the 3.5 pounds of honey made the mixture so thick?
JAO is a little unconventional. Given the ingredients and method. 3.5lb of honey in the gallon (irrespective of US or Imperial) would give a high reading whatever (and that doesn't include the sugars in the fruit).

If you'd tested after shaking.the bejesus put if it, then a high, yet false, reading, isn't surprising. Also, what's the highest limit of your hydrometer ?
__________________

"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away". Tom Waits.

Oh, and here's some blog stuff!

fatbloke is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2012, 08:19 PM   #3
flyinmonkeybs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, I did take the reading after swirling the mixture for an extended period. I believe the upper level of the hydrometer is 1.15 if I am reading it correctly.

__________________
flyinmonkeybs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2012, 09:37 PM   #4
fatbloke
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK - South Coast.
Posts: 2,682
Liked 174 Times on 161 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinmonkeybs View Post
Yes, I did take the reading after swirling the mixture for an extended period. I believe the upper level of the hydrometer is 1.15 if I am reading it correctly.
Sounds like you may have got a false high reading from that then. My hydrometer also tops out at 1.150, though I've seen both wider and narrower ranges. Wider range ones tending less accuracy, and narrower offering greater accuracy.

Personally, with JAO, I just weigh out the ingredients and follow the method. I'm not fused about measuring gravity. Yet if you feel the need, take a sample of the must and measure it in a test jar. But if you've already mixed/shaken the batch, then let it settle (cover the top with cling wrap) before measuring. The bubbles can cause a mis-reading....
__________________

"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away". Tom Waits.

Oh, and here's some blog stuff!

fatbloke is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS