Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Novice mead questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2013, 02:03 AM   #1
irishlion
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Novice mead questions

I'm new to making any type of alcohol, I am serious about the process and getting it right and having it come out (Not perfect nobody gets it perfect the first time) but good. I know what I need and have the money for the expenses. I bought my wooden charred barrel for the finished product and I have the fermentation lock. What I need to know is where do I buy yeast and what kind do I use that is the best. Also how long do I wait for it to finish fermenting and do I have to age it? I may ask more question later and I thank you for any input.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2013, 03:03 AM   #2
Arpolis
Recipes 

Liked 182 Times on 170 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Depending on what you want to brew exactly changes the yeast to be used. Do you want a traditional mead (Honey/water/nutrient/yeast)? Or do you want a Melomel (Fruit mead), Metheglin (Spiced or herbal mead), Cyser (Apple mead), Pyment (Grape mead)...............?

Fermenting time depend on the recipe. I have some done in weeks, others done in months.

Aging is always recommended. Depending on the recipe you may be able to drink it within 3 months but aging 8 - 12 months before drinking is common.

Let us know what your preferences are and we all can direct you to a recipe & directions that will help you out to get a decent product.

A painting says a thousand words. But a painting while on good mead just looks funny!

Old 01-11-2013, 03:07 AM   #3
jackfrost
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by irishlion View Post