HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Not "Easy", Not Quick 1-Gallon Mead Recipe?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2011, 01:52 AM   #1
BonnieJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Not "Easy", Not Quick 1-Gallon Mead Recipe?

I'm new to mead making but I've done a little bit of beer brewing and I'm moderately familiar with the fermentation process. I'm also patient and am fine with waiting a fair bit (6 months to a year sounds pretty reasonable) for good mead. I want to make a dry, still mead.

I don't want it to be unnecessarily difficult recipe, but I want one that doesn't cut corners for quickness, or something like that.

Can someone recommend a good recipe?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2011, 11:51 AM   #2
huesmann
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Take 4 lb honey, mix with water to 1 gal. Aerate using whatever method you prefer. Add 1/4 t Fermaid-K. Pitch Lalvin K1V-1116 yeast and add it to the must. Carboy and airlock. Done.

Old 08-12-2011, 12:52 PM   #3
frydogbrews
Recipes 

Liked 46 Times on 46 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by huesmann View Post
Take 4 lb honey, mix with water to 1 gal. Aerate using whatever method you prefer. Add 1/4 t Fermaid-K. Pitch Lalvin K1V-1116 yeast and add it to the must. Carboy and airlock. Done.
the only thing i would add is after a month or so, whenever fermentation has slowed or stopped, adjust your pH to about 3.2 or 3.3, somewhere right around that range. for a one gallon batch that would be somewhere around 1/2-3/4 tsp, i think, but it really depends on the honey.

adjust your pH with an acid blend containing tartaric, malic and citric acids. if you do this before ferment, you can have slightly angry yeasties, and we always strive to keep the yeasties happy!

Old 08-12-2011, 07:07 PM   #4
fatbloke
Complete nugget!

Recipes