New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Noobrew Questions - please critique my process and give me some pointers/tips

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
SandorClegane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Noobrew Questions - please critique my process and give me some pointers/tips

I'm new to brewing. It's something I've wanted to do for a long time, but never got around to.

Finally, yesterday, I pulled the trigger and bought some stuff:

5 gallon Primary Fermentation Bucket
5 gallon Carboy
Bung and Airlock
Racking cane and Siphon Hose
Carboy Cleaning Brush
Restaurant Grade Sanitizing Solution
Yeast and Yeast Nutrition

I wanted to start with something easy. I've always loved honey Mead and had decided (through lots of googling) that Mead was a fairly easy brewing project to start with. So I started with it.

I thought I made a big mistake at one point, but I think it's working out okay anyway. I'll look to your input on that, though. Here is what I did.

1. Sanitized everything.

2. Pasteurized a 2 gallon mix of equal parts honey and water (1 gallon of honey with 1 gallon of water, brought to 170 degrees and kept there for 15 minutes).

2.1. Simultaneous with that^ I hydrated my yeast in room-temp/warm water.

3. Mixed the pasteurized honey/water mixture with 3 gallons of cold water in the primary fermentation bucket, then did my best to shake it/swirl it up for aeration.

4. (Here's where I messed up) I added the yeast nutrition and the hydrated yeast to the Must without first checking the temp to make sure it was not too hot.

5. I panicked, checked the temp, and discovered that the Must was around 120 degrees F.

6. Not knowing what to do, I put the lid on it and stuck in the airlock (with sanitized water in the airlock).

7. Moved the primary fermentation bucket to a dry room that stays at about 72-75 degrees F throughout the day.