Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Need Recipe Suggestion - Ready by Christmas

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2011, 12:18 AM   #1
chicagobrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default Need Recipe Suggestion - Ready by Christmas

I've got quite a few all-grain beer batches under the belt and was thinking about trying my hand at a mead. I'm a complete noob in this arena. I'd like to give some bottles away for Christmas and wondered if anyone had some recipe suggestions for me. What could I make that would be ready in 8.5 months? What's your favorite type? I'll listen to anything.

O'zapft is!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2011, 12:26 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4785 Times on 3480 Posts
Likes Given: 956

The ONLY thing I can think of that might be ready for Christmas this year is "Joe's Ancient Orange Mead". It's relatively quick and pretty good. The recipe is in my recipe pull down, but it's not my recipe!

Old 03-29-2011, 01:11 AM   #3
deb_rn
Recipes 

Even Ancient Orange needs a lot of time to settle.
I would go with wine as a first try and not mead... that's just me. Mead needs a little more tending and time than wine.

Try a quick wine from Welch's White Grape/Raspberry. When you backsweeten... add a can for flavor as well... undiluted, then sugar to taste.

Debbie

Old 03-29-2011, 05:34 PM   #4
Hethen57
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts