Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Mold on carboy wall

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2012, 03:58 AM   #1
Sunaquar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Mold on carboy wall

It's my first time for mead making. It's been 10 days and I can see the fermentation going on. But I see the green spots on the carboy wall. I did sanitized everything completely. I would really appreciate if someone can clarify if its mold or not. I don't see any mold on the surface though.you can see that on the upper right hand side of the pictures.

Please help!!!

image.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 04:13 AM   #2
monkeyinwolfsuit
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunaquar
It's my first time for mead making. It's been 10 days and I can see the fermentation going on. But I see the green spots on the carboy wall. I did sanitized everything completely. I would really appreciate if someone can clarify if its mold or not. I don't see any mold on the surface though.you can see that on the upper right hand side of the pictures.

Please help!!!
Looks like mold to me sorry.

Old 12-27-2012, 10:19 AM   #3
snuesen
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

If it is mold, which looks like it could be with that color, then you didn't sanitize as well as you should have. Maybe read up on it again if necessary.

Doesn't mean the batch is ruined tho. It's not even in liquid, so just keep track of it and when you rack make sure you leave anything that isn't mead behind.

Old 12-27-2012, 11:47 AM   #4
Sharkman20
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Rack it into a new sanitized carboy. Mold spores from the growth on the side will be in the air on the inside of the carboy.

Old 12-27-2012, 12:30 PM   #5
Sunaquar
Recipes