Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Mead Question-Sheen on the Top

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2013, 04:32 AM   #1
Keen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Mead Question-Sheen on the Top

Hi all,
I have been brewing beer for about 10 years without much difficulty, but I finally ran into some difficulty with some mead. I am helping a friend brew some for a wedding this fall, so we went with a basic honey mead. We made it in February and it has been sitting after fermenting for a bit in a glass carboy.

In April sometime, the airlock ran out of water, and was probably left that way for a couple of weeks. By the time this was discovered, there was a sheen on the top and what looks like some floaty things. It is only on about the top 1/4 inch and the rest in appearance looks normal.

The airlock was refilled with water. The scent is still pleasant, sweet. I'm just wondering if I should dump it or if it is salvageable at this point. I have attached a pic, let me know what you think. Thanks, Keen

948.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2013, 04:37 AM   #2
thatjonguy
Now with 57.93% more awesome!
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 13 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 302 Times on 209 Posts
Likes Given: 49

I haven't made mead but that looks like an infection.

"That little guy? Don't worry about that little guy."

Old 06-03-2013, 12:38 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4455 Times on 3243 Posts
Likes Given: 866

It looks like a ton of headspace (like it wasn't topped up) which is likely to be a problem anyway, but then it looks infected on top of that. Not good, I'm afraid.

Old 06-03-2013, 01:59 PM   #4
huesmann
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 1