Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Mead Newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2011, 03:47 PM   #1
tobinobin
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Mead Newbie

Hey all, I recently got interested in brewing; mead and cider specifically. The hobby is ridiculously addictive! I'm constantly checking my cupboard to see how things are progressing. I started brewing on the 17th with a simple mead and turbo cider. Pic of the mead after 5 days attached below. Since then I've been down to the local brewing shop twice and have 2 meads, 2 ciders: one from my own blood, sweat and tears - pressing apples is hard without a press...the process involved multiple buckets, a rolling pin and a blender, as well as some thin cloth for straining - and the other from apple juice, as well as a plum wine / jerkum thing made from fresh plums. It smells and tasted extremely acidic...bit worried about this one. Anyways just here to say hello and thanks for the interesting info on this forum!

PS: I tried a commercial mead - the only mead I could find - from morrisons (UK). It was extremely sweet and the aroma of honey was overwhelming. It was like a really sweet dessert wine. I'm making it my mission to make a more drinkable semi-dry mead for my friends and I (who are also into the idea of mead). Wish me luck!
PPS: Is it possible to make an extremely drinkable mead between the ranges of 8-10%? Any pointers on how to achieve such? Thanks

001.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2011, 05:16 PM   #2
regulatedhobbyist
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

I typically use this yeast chart to figure out what type of yeast to use. This also give me an idea of how much ABV I will achieve.

I got it here.

Old 12-29-2011, 05:53 PM   #3
fatbloke
Recipes 

Liked 174 Times on 161 Posts
Likes Given: 26