*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Mead and High Alcohol Content vs Taste

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2008, 06:59 PM   #1
ruger12pk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Mead and High Alcohol Content vs Taste

Thanks To Poobah57 im making a new thread on this topic...

Ok, Im a noob I freely admit...but here's the deal...I want to brew up my mead with the highest alcohol content I can reasonably get without compromising the honey taste...Im thinking Id ask in here for some tips and some wrote in stone recipes! So what you old hands got in here? ;-)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2008, 07:01 PM   #2
ruger12pk
Recipes 

Thanks To Poobah58 im making a new thread on this topic...

Ok, Im a noob I freely admit...but here's the deal...I want to brew up my mead with the highest alcohol content I can reasonably get without compromising the honey taste...Im thinking Id ask in here for some tips and some wrote in stone recipes! So what you old hands got in here? ;-)

Old 12-12-2008, 07:18 PM   #3
summersolstice
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 16 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruger12pk View Post
I want to brew up my mead with the highest alcohol content I can reasonably get without compromising the honey taste...
I read these high alcohol or high SG mead posts all the time and I can't figure out what the attraction is. Yes, I'm over 50 and yes, I've been drunk my share of times over the years and I understand that young people want to party and get stupid. But I just don't understand why anyone would want to boost alcohol levels in a beverage so delicate and nuanced as mead. It's really all about balance and high alcohol tends to throw everything out of balance, not to mention resulting in lengthy aging times.

Why not just buy some MD 20-20 if you want high alcohol, or better yet, get some Ever Clear and mix it with honey and the fruit juice of your choice?