Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > JOAM tanginess

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2010, 06:02 PM   #1
Nepsis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default JOAM tanginess

I'm pretty new to mead, and brewing in general. I don't have an ideal situation for brewing, either: I live in an RV, moving from place to place for my job every 2-4 weeks. Still, I did two separate gallons of JOAM last fall (substituting half a grapefruit for the orange in the second gallon) and they came out very delicious. I was excited to get started again, so did the same (2 one gallon batches of JOAM, one with grapefruit instead of orange) but used EC1118 instead of bread yeast. I finally bottled them last night (have been pretty busy lately, so they ended up in fermentation for 4 months rather than the 3 months the last set femented). These past four months have been very cold, resulting in a chilly interior at home. I also took the recipe a little too seriously when it said to forget about them: when I pulled them out, the airlocks weren't completely air-locking. Nonetheless, the result is tasty. I realize they need to sit in the bottle for several months before reaching their peak, but I had some excess beyond what would fit in the bottle, so tried it. Seems to have a bit more of a bite to it than the first batch, and maybe even a very slight sense of carbonation-esque tingliness. These are my thoughts in comparison to the first taste I had from the first batch. Any thoughts on what might have made these differences...longer fermentation...colder fermentation...potential contamination...?

Next up, I'm hoping to set up two 2.5-gallon batches of something...haven't decided yet, but I'd like to step it up a notch and do something more interesting, but that keeps within the limits of my environment.

--R

Primary:
- JAOM
Secondary:
- Lemon-ginger mead (based on Mr. Nice Guy's recipe)