Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > JAOM Syrupy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2012, 05:36 PM   #1
xilosen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default JAOM Syrupy

I'm a mead noob. I've had some local that tasted great so thought I'd start with a batch of JAOM.

I took a sample of 3 month old JAOM from the carboy and I can honestly say it tastes disgusting. I like sweeter drinks, but this stuff is like syrup. I'm pretty disappointed as I've read tons of people say JAOM was great.

Will this get any better? I made 9 gallons of it (original and some recommended variants). I would hate to have to dump it all.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2012, 08:22 PM   #2
delvorak
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

What's the SG? Sounds to me like it hasn't finished fermenting.

Old 07-30-2012, 08:35 PM   #3
fatbloke
Recipes 

Liked 173 Times on 160 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Quote:
Originally Posted by xilosen View Post
I'm a mead noob. I've had some local that tasted great so thought I'd start with a batch of JAOM.

I took a sample of 3 month old JAOM from the carboy and I can honestly say it tastes disgusting. I like sweeter drinks, but this stuff is like syrup. I'm pretty disappointed as I've read tons of people say JAOM was great.

Will this get any better? I made 9 gallons of it (original and some recommended variants). I would hate to have to dump it all.
Did it finish fermenting ? Had the fruit dropped ?

I know that Joes instructions say it's ready for drinking once the fruit has dropped and it's gone clear, but I've never found it like that. I always age it for at least 6 months.

To start with, the yeast is a US brand, we can't get it here, so I just use a local equivalent.