Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Info about Wyeast 4632 Dry Mead Yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2008, 03:22 PM   #1
Boerderij_Kabouter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 115 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default Info about Wyeast 4632 Dry Mead Yeast

Hi everybody,

I have been trying to find some information about Wyeast 4632 (Dry Mead). I started a dry mead with this yeast in mid-November. Standard mead recipe, 3 lbs/g orange blossom honey, and a few cups of heather tips. This should be a subtle varietal mead and I am hoping it will finish out rather dry. I used energizer and nutrient as well.

This is my first time using this yeast. All other meads have been fermented with various wine yeasts and finish in or around 1 month with main fermentation, or at least with visible bubbling.

This mead (Nov. 07) is still chugging away pumping out a bubble in the air lock once every 20 seconds! I know, I know... RDWHAHB. I was just curious if anyone else has had this. 18% ABV is a lot and I expected this ferment to take a while, but a 4 month primary fermentation is setting new records for me.

Thanks for any info you have.
Justin

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2008, 08:10 PM   #2
Boerderij_Kabouter

Recipes 

No one has used 4632? Or did I write to long a novel?

Old 03-18-2008, 10:32 PM   #3
malkore

Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 9

I don't like dry mead...so I have not.

My question is, what was the OG, and what is the current gravity?

Airlock activity means nothing unless you can quantify it with a gravity reading.

Bottled: MOAM, Braggot, Raspberry Melomel, Merlot, Apfelwein, Pyment, Sweet mead, Cabernet
Gal in 2009: 27, Gal in 2010: 34, Gal in 2011: 13, Gal in 2012: 10

Old 03-18-2008, 10:45 PM   #4
Boerderij_Kabouter

Recipes 

Sorry, can't believe I didn't post that...

11/02/07: OG = 1.094
12/25/07: SG = 1.064