New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > How much babysitting does mead need?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2006, 12:31 AM   #1
dancingbarefoot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How much babysitting does mead need?

For lack of better term, how much babysitting does mead need?

I've been wanting to try a mead (wanted to make mead long before beer, actually, but wanted to drink the results sooner ), but because I'm a grad student who spends her summers and winter vacations traveling around, I haven't yet. If I start a batch that needs to sit around a while, I end up with nowhere to store it because I move (too) often.

This summer, I'll be doing fieldwork in Alaska (home sweet home!), so I'll be living with my parents (= place to store mead long-term). It would be totally possible for me to brew a batch of mead there this summer and leave it in their garage or basement. But then after 2-3 months, I'll be returning to Texas. Would it be safe to say that after 2-3 months, I could just leave it to age while I go off to school, or would that be the mother of all ****-ups?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2006, 10:38 AM   #2
homebrewer_99

Recipes 

Liked 80 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Yes, you could leave the mead in a carboy for 3 months.

I would recommend a basement over a garage just because they are usually cooler.

The only problem is you have to make sure someone knows how to fill the airlock and check it weekly.

Old 04-21-2006, 11:35 PM   #3
Caplan
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

In the 2 to 3 months you could always go for a higher Alcohol Dry Mead (say 10% to 11%) with a wine yeast and then campden tablet, clear it of the sediments and then age it sealed before you head back to Texas.
Leave it in the dark and cold. Forget it.
Mead needs time to develop.