Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > first time making mead

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2007, 09:34 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default first time making mead

This is my first attempt at making mead I fallowed a recipe I found online. It is an organic strawberry mead. I mashed up the strawberries and put them in the mead then let it sit for just under 2 weeks. After letting it sit for about 2 weeks I racked to remove the strawberries. It has been in secondary fermentation for just over 2 months now. Just checked it and its still bubbling away.

The one question I have is does the type of yeast used affect the taste? I used turbo yeast to make mine because thats what I had at the time. If this works out well I will be making lots more in the future.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2007, 11:53 AM   #2
mgayer
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 123
This is my first attempt at making mead I fallowed a recipe I found online. It is an organic strawberry mead. I mashed up the strawberries and put them in the mead then let it sit for just under 2 weeks. After letting it sit for about 2 weeks I racked to remove the strawberries. It has been in secondary fermentation for just over 2 months now. Just checked it and its still bubbling away.

The one question I have is does the type of yeast used affect the taste? I used turbo yeast to make mine because thats what I had at the time. If this works out well I will be making lots more in the future.
Yes it does! Some have buttery taste, some don't impart anything, while others can even give spicy or fruity aroma.

Be careful about letting the must sit on the lees too long as it will give some off flavors.

In the Carboy:
Red wine
Roman Raisin Wine
Bottle aging/drinking:
Mead
Apple Wine (15% abv)
Strawberry Wine
Elder Flower Wine
Blue moon Clone