Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > First Mead.... Lots of thoughts and questions!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2008, 04:50 PM   #1
lucasszy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First Mead.... Lots of thoughts and questions!

Being so new to beer brewing in general, I poked my head into the mead section and decided to go with a simple mead since it takes so little time.

I went with a 1 gallon batch.
3 lbs of honey (a mix of clover and mesquite)
1 orange (rind and all, cut into eights)
2 cloves
1 cinammon stick
Bread yeast (thats what the recipe called for)

Now, here is where I show myself to be a TOTAL newbie to mead. What the heck is it and what can I expect?

I've never heard of it till I read about it. I know that I've heard about it in medieval movies and such, but what can I truly expect... flavor wise and such?

How do I drink it? Shots? Warmed up in a beer glass?

I dont really know what I put together, but Im willing to experiment!

Cheers

Lucas

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2008, 05:24 PM   #3
BigKahuna
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 48 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 6

This is where you are fogetting the RELAX part.
There are no rules to mead. If you like it warm...drink it warm. If you want to mix it with a sprite...go for it. If you want to mix it into party punch, that's fine too.
The big thing to remember is that you have a lot of time and effort in it, and that should be considered when mixing... even with spices. I have no interest in spending months or years to make something I'm gonna mix with sprite anyway. That's what Mogan David is for.

I like mead chilled....in a wine glass...about 4 or 6 oz at a time.
If you decide to continue with mead, you should get Ken Schram's book the Complete Mead Maker. It'll cost you less than the honey for a 1 gallon batch...and the info is priceless.