Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > First Mead, Looking for help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2012, 01:56 AM   #1
BrewerinND
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First Mead, Looking for help

My Brother-in-Law and I have been brewing beer for about 6 months now and he really wants to get into brewing Mead as well. So for Christmas I'm going to pick up some supplies and I'm looking for a book on mead brewing as well. Are there any really great books I should be looking at?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2012, 03:56 AM   #2
snuesen
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Ken Schramm's book is very popular, tons of good info for starting up

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0937381802

Old 10-06-2012, 03:56 AM   #3
fatbloke
Recipes 

Liked 165 Times on 152 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrewerinND View Post
My Brother-in-Law and I have been brewing beer for about 6 months now and he really wants to get into brewing Mead as well. So for Christmas I'm going to pick up some supplies and I'm looking for a book on mead brewing as well. Are there any really great books I should be looking at?
Well the obvious one is Ken Schramm's "The Compleat Meadmaker". Haven't seen whether Ken posts here, but he does from time to time over at Gotmead.

Their "NewBee Guide" is also well worth a read, as it has pretty much all the info to start out.

For one that I got, as it was all that I could find on this side of the pond, Ashton & Duncans out of print book "Making Mead", was pretty easy to locate a copy of. But I just checked Amazon.co.uk to see if I could link a copy and it seems they have reprinted it..... See here (I don't know if it's been updated as well, or just reprinted - gonna order a new copy myself as I found one when it was out of print from the mid-70's).