Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > d47 yeast at 78 degrees

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2012, 03:28 AM   #1
msarro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default d47 yeast at 78 degrees

Hey everyone. SWMBO and I have disagreements about the temperature to keep our house at. In summer I prefer cool temperatures, whereas shell put on a sweater at 80 degrees. Pair that with high power bills lately, and our house has been positively roasting. I can turn the ac up while I'm home, but when I leave she'll shut it off.

I'd like to kick off a mead I've been putting together a recipe for, but my concern is that the coolest part of our house is the basement. It has an average temperature of 78 degrees f. Is it pointless to even try at that temp? I have an ale going ATM which seems to be happily bubbling, but I'm still new to meads. I'm concerned that if I don't start soon I won't have it by the time I'd like (our wedding, oct 2013).

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2012, 04:46 AM   #2
fatbloke
Recipes 

Liked 174 Times on 161 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Lots of yeasts will ferment fine at 78, but you don't want to run a batch with D47 above 70F/21C because above that, its known to produce fusels.

And I presume you don't want a batch that tastes "chemically".....

Just go with a more temp tolerant yeast. Tailor the recipe for 12-14% ABV, for ease of fermentation, then back sweeten it.

"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away". Tom Waits.

Oh, and here's some blog stuff!

Old 07-31-2012, 05:52 AM   #3
Vespa
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I can personally vouch for the D47 and fusels when the temp is too high. You could try the swamp cooler approach. Get a tub filled with water and put frozen water bottles in it once or twice a day, or an apparatus like this:

https://www.cool-brewing.com/