Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > A Couple Of Questions...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
Diesel70
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default A Couple Of Questions...

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the brewing scene and have a couple questions...

1) Looking around, I heard of a yeast that is a "Fruity Bouquet" called Epernay Yeast. Any suggestions? I was thinking of making a Melomel and wasn't sure of what yeast I should use.

2) With aforementioned yeast, how much honey would you recommend using for a mildly sweet mead? I haven't found much information on this strain of yeast with the limited research I have conducted and would like to start my Melomel asap since i have limited time for it's completion.

Thanks in advance for the help!
~Diesel70

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2012, 07:14 PM   #2
sonofgrok
n00basaurus
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 244 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 117

No experience with that yeast as I have only used EC1118 so far in my meads but I can tell you from my experience so far as a new mead maker that "limited time for completion" and mead (or melomel) are not two things that go together very well.

"Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut." ~Ernest Hemingway

Old 09-30-2012, 07:23 PM   #3
Diesel70
Recipes